favourites

Current Favourites

This week has seriously flown by in a blur of deadlines and stress. I’ve not been sleeping much, and when I am asleep it’s usually broken and fitful. As you can imagine… that, combined with the stress, has lead to me being utterly exhausted. I haven’t had the brain capacity to do much else except work on the remaining assessments I have due in the next three weeks. I apologise if my grammar is a bit odd. I’m not the best version of myself right now.

But! There’s light at the end of every tunnel and I can see it now. In the next five days I have three assessments due, so once they’re out of the way I will be much, much happier. And it’s only one assessment after that! I’ll have to bake something to celebrate.

Here are a few of my favourites from the past week:

Candied Walnut and Pear Salad with a Lemon Poppyseed Dressing.

I’ve vowed to eat more salads over the coming months as pasta just ain’t working for me and I’m worried that if I overdo the soups I’ll hate them forever. Also, my skin is still a bit yuck so hopefully the raw nutrients work their magic! I’m particularly excited for this salad, which I’ll be adding goats cheese to instead of feta for a more complex flavour package.

salad3

Thick, snuggly knitted jumpers have been making an appearance in our house this past week, especially today. The chill has snuck in and I’m really happy it has. I write this post while wearing UGG BOOTS. Yes, friends, winter has arrived.

Death by Elocution:

Strawberry and Yogurt Bark. This is described as a kids snack but I think that’s a total cop-out. After dinner each night I crave sweet food, always in the form of chocolate or ice cream. I figure this will be a healthy alternative, and also a great quick snack as I run out the door. I’m going to add chia seeds for extra protein.

This quote has been on my mind a lot lately. I feel a DIY spree coming up as soon as I hand in that last assessment!

Deep.:

Baked Zucchini Fries. A healthier alternative to potato fries, or even sweet potato fries. You get your green veg fix and I also like that these are baked… because I don’t have a deep fryer and refuse to buy seed oils and the like. I feel like you could get away with having only these for dinner because really, it’s like 85% zucchini.

Baked Zucchini Fries - These fries are amazingly crisp-tender and healthy with just 135.4 calories. And no one would ever believe that these are baked!

This kitchen. The floors, the sink, the splashback. I love bright and white kitchens the most.

Herringbone floors, white cabinetry and graphic tile backsplash - swoon!:

Spiced Pear Muffins. Because winter calls for hot, spiced pear in EVERYTHING. These, + a drizzle of caramel sauce and a scoop of ice cream for dessert? Yes. Yes. Bloody hell yes!

And that’s it for this week.

Sharni X

 

 

Leave a Reply

