life

The Honey I’m Obsessed With Right Now

Lately I’ve been slowly transitioning to a sugar-free kitchen. (I say kitchen because I still use sugar in my homemade mocha body scrub – more on that soon!) I’ve wanted to use less sugar for a while now, and as I work with children (and bake treats for them) I figured why not start now?

I was finding it hard to get that sweetness I’m craving in recipes without sugar in my house, until I stumbled across Beechworth’s new honey range in my local supermarket. The first thing that attracted me to this honey was FOR SURE the packaging. I hate buying honey in plastic tubs, so I was happy to find a lot of their range is sold in glass jars that I can re-use (think salads, vases, snacks, D.I.Y. Christmas gifts). Another thing I loved is the different varieties of honey available. I originally bought the Coastal, the Outback and the Meadow Honey as they’re all light and relatively sweet, but I’ve since bought even more – some darker honey with more depth (the Macadamia Honey and the Blackberry Honey), as well as some sweeter honey with fun flavours (the Vanilla Bean Honey and the Lemon Myrtle Creamy Honey). Can you tell I’m obsessed?

So, I’ve tasted them all, of course. I eat them on toast with butter, I put some in my tea, I drizzle them on yogurt and ice cream, I’ve used them to make banana muffins and an apple cake and I’ve drizzled some on top of pancakes. I’ve also used them to caramelize sweet potato and pumpkin in the oven. Oh, I’ve even eaten them straight from the jar. I’m not ashamed, either, because the honey is THAT GOOD. And I’m not the only one that thinks so…

Another thing Beechworth does well is telling you the best way to use the different varieties of their honey to get the most out of it. I’ve found that their recommendations are SPOT ON, which makes life much easier (and tastier)!

But what I love most about this brand is their dedication to the bees they source their honey from, as well as the fact that all of their honey is 100% Australian (even the Manuka Honey, which is sourced from Tasmania). The people behind the brand work tirelessly to educate people (including our politicians) on the importance of honeybees in our ecosystem. They also work hard to ensure their bees are happy and healthy. The profits from their product sales go towards funding research into the activities, patterns and preferences of their bees to ensure a safe and happy future for both the bees and the world they live in. Beechworth is the type of brand you feel good about supporting.

By the way guys, this post is not sponsored. I genuinely love everything about this brand, and look forward to trying ALL of their range (once I’ve finished the seven jars in my kitchen, of course!)

Keep an eye out for some healthy recipes using only honey as a sweetener (children AND parent approved), as well as some beauty hacks (honey works wonders on your skin)! Once it’s closer to Christmas I’ll also be showing you how to re-use the gorgeous jars for some easy and affordable gifts to give your fam + friends. Or you could just give them a jar of Beechworth honey? My favourite picks (of what I’ve tried so far) are DEFINITELY the Coastal Honey and the Vanilla Bean Honey.

I hope this post has made you wanna go out and buy ALL the honey. You seriously won’t regret it.

Sharni X

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Honey I’m Obsessed With Right Now

  1. I’ve never seen such a variety of different honey. 🙂 It’s a great way to get sweetness without using sugar and honey, especially Manuka honey, has anti-bacterial properties. Win win 🙂
    My favourite treat is a thick crust of fresh bread with honey. Mmmm 🙂
    Enjoy all your honey! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

