books

Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

 :

I’ve got a little life tip for you all.

If you’re going to read any book written by Colleen Hoover, do it on your day off.

BECAUSE YOU WON’T BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN.

I wish I was kidding, but I’m not. I find with all of Colleen’s books I’m just addicted to the stories she tells and the ways in which she tells them: so hungry for more and so eager to find out what happens next.

I started reading this particular book at 8pm… and had finished it by 1am. I devoured it in five hours – only stopping twice to pee. The next day I was sleepy and slow, but so fulfilled and just in total love with the book I had just read. Then the depression set in. You know what I’m talking about – the feeling of sadness and emptiness you get after you finish reading an amazing book for the first time, and you know you won’t ever get to do that again. Sure, you can go back and re-read it, but you already know what happens. It’s rare that I have that feeling, but I’m so glad (sorta?) that I had it for this book.

I’m not going to go into the story too much because everyone has already done that over on Goodreads, but I will say this: It Ends With Us is Colleen Hoover’s BEST novel to date. It’s dark, it’s raw and it’s beyond emotional. It’s twisted and real and open and honest and totally relatable. There are plot twists that you never expected, and there are moments within it in which you question yourself, deep down into your very soul: what your limits are and what you would withstand for ‘the perfect relationship’.

If you’re a PERSON I recommend you read this book. There’s not really much else I can say. It’s the best book I’ve read in years.

Oh wait, there is one more thing… the cover is super Instagram friendly. Don’t hate me for saying that, but it is FOR SURE the most beautiful book I own.

Thanks Colleen, for providing me with many sleepless nights because of your beautiful words.

Sharni X

“The last thing you want to do is lose sight of your limit.” – It Ends With Us.

 

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

