interior

Interiors Inspiration

I mean, I don’t think it’s a secret that I’m interiors obsessed. I’ve always believed that your home is the perfect reflection of you who are as a person. There have been times when my home hasn’t reflected my personality, and I always find those are the times when I feel a sort of disconnect in my life: I’m stressed, anxious and uninspired.

Last week I felt this way, and by now I know that it has a lot to do with feeling unhappy with my surroundings, so I’ve decided to change my house up! It’s always a slow process, and I was kind of lost with what sort of vibe I wanted. So I turned to Pinterest for some interiors inspiration, and I wasn’t disappointed. This is what I found.

From the Sassy issue:

I used to always have patterned bedding until I realised how calming neutral can be, and grey + pink tones are E V E R Y T H I N G right now.

Ashes of Roses Stone Washed Linen Duvet Cover by LinenTalesInBed on Etsy https://www.etsy.com/listing/227025232/ashes-of-roses-stone-washed-linen-duvet:

I’m also loving linen textures right now in my home. Everything from couch pillows to bedding.

Modern farmhouse sink:

Clutter is such a buzzkill for me, so I’ve been trying to minimalise all the clutter/stuff I have sitting out in the open, and storing the rest in cupboards and drawers.

I only want to own dishes/platters/fancy servers etc... makes the presentation of food standout !:

Something else I’ve been slowly changing up is our plates and bowls, as well as our serving platters. We used to own a lot of different patterns, colours and textures, which was fun… but I’ve noticed this: food looks much more appetizing when it’s on a white or neutral plate/bowl. So, while I’ve kept some of our favourite dishes we’ve bought/received over the years, I have downsized dramatically, and added a few key pieces that I know will up my food game.

Cozy home with a brick wall - via cocolapinedesign.com:

The bare bones of our house are grey, white and timber. We have timber beams as part of the roof, a timber staircase, white walls and grey carpets. I decided a lighter theme would suit our house more, as opposed to our last theme which was a lot of timber and chocolate brown. By simply downsizing on furniture, adding some white shelves, and buying a grey couch, our house has become SO much brighter and lighter during the day. I feel like letting the bones of the house decide how you decorate makes more sense than what we did previously, as now every piece of furniture works with the house and makes it look both newer and cleaner.

I’ll be doing a home update soon, I’m just waiting for a few more things to arrive. I’m posting little snippets over on my Instagram though, so make sure you’re following me!

Sharni X

 

 

8 thoughts on “Interiors Inspiration

Leave a Reply

