recipes

Sugar-Free & Vegan Iced Chai

The weird thing about living in Australia is having Halloween and Christmas during the warmer months. Sometimes I wish I lived in the UK or US, so I could be cosying up watching horror movies or Christmas movies, sipping hot drinks, and spending majority of the day snuggled under fifty or so blankets. But I just can’t do that here.

So, rather than moving across the globe, I decided to keep things cool yet cosy and festive by making an iced chai that’s both sugar-free and vegan. Instead of making a chai concentrate, which seemed a bit tedious, I made chai ice cubes! These were super easy to make and they last in the freezer F O R E V E R if stored correctly!

Let’s get to the recipe, shall we? (If you can really call it that – this drink is SERIOUSLY simple to make!)

Sugar-Free & Vegan Iced Chai

You’ll need: an ice cube tray, five chai tea bags, 3 teaspoons of sweetener (I used stevia) and as much almond milk as you prefer.

{You will need to start this recipe the night before as the ice cubes need time to freeze}

How: boil the kettle, and put your five chai tea bags in a heatproof jug. Once the kettle is boiled, pour about 1.5 cups of the hot water into the heatproof jug. Add your sweetener and let the tea steep for 5-10 minutes. Pour into the ice cube tray, and then transfer the full tray (carefully) to the freezer. Leave in there overnight.

The next day: grab the ice cube tray out of the freezer. The exact measurements are completely up to you. I put about 8 or 9 ice cubes + 300mL of almond milk in a huge glass jar, and sipped it for the majority of the morning. If you’ve any ice cubes left over, pop them out of the tray and store them in a zip-lock bag in the freezer for next time!

Enjoy! I hope you guys love this drink as much as I do, and it’s waaaaay healthier than the iced chai lattes you will get at a coffee store – no syrups up in here!

Sharni X

4 thoughts on “Sugar-Free & Vegan Iced Chai

  1. I used to live in LA and it was soo weird to me when it would be bright and sunny during the holidays! But I guess when you live somewhere for a long time that just becomes the norm. Anyways, this chai looks soo good! I love the idea of freezing it into the ice cube tray cause when I use regular ice, my chai gets all watery :/

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

    Like

Leave a Reply

